Dayna's Blog

Holidays, walks and who knows what

Naturally Beautiful

4 Comments

In early April the Walhalla Star Hotel posted on their Facebook page news that their state MP, Philip Davis was running a Gippsland photo competition – the prize being a B&B + dinner at the hotel. Having stayed at the Star previously, we knew this was a pretty decent prize!

Since we’d been to Walhalla recently (read about it here) I knew we had a couple of photos that might be worth submitting (I do like to share, after all). The competition was to be drawn on 30 April.

It took several attempts – and all of my lunch break – on the 29th of April to submit photos (email attachment size being the issue). But apparently it was worth it – my photo entitled “Naturally Beautiful” taken in Baw Baw National Park on the track up to Mushroom Rocks/Mt Erica was chosen as the winner!

Attractive walking at Mt Erica

I admit one of my first thoughts when I was notified that one of my photos had won was “There mustn’t have been too many entrants!”. But every so often you get an unexpected win – and gosh it feels good!

Here is the media release from Philip Davis MP’s office:

Media Release from Philip Davis MP

I’m curious to see some of the entries when the new website is up. I’ve been promised notification; I’ll try to remember to add a link to it here.

: )

Author: Dayna

I'm interested in nature, hiking and photography - but these have been somewhat overwhelmed by a new passion... my Brompton folding bikes! You can follow me on Twitter: @daynaa2000 or @Brompton_MEL Or find me hanging out most Saturdays at Velo Electric & Folding (http://velocycles.com.au/folding-bikes/) or on a Melbourne Brompton Club ride! (https://melbournebromptonclub.wordpress.com)

4 thoughts on “Naturally Beautiful

  1. Congratulations Dayna albeit a little late, fabulous photo you have a great eye

    • I take plenty that don’t work, too. But occasionally there’s one you just know will make it on to next year’s calendar! (And it’s good exercise!)

  2. Congratulations! really fantastic photo- we’re going to have to check out Baw Baw National Park, I think!

Leave a Reply

